Disable touchpad tapping in Kubuntu

As my touchpad really drove me crazy ’cause I regularly tapped it by coincident, I was looking for a way to switch that off. Kubuntu is neither my first nor the only linux distribution I’ve dealt with already, so I thought about just changing my xorg.conf what I had done on other machines before but I didn’t recognize my config file anymore. Someone seemed to have removed almost every content of it. There were just a few lines remaining which looked like this:

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier      "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "Default Screen"
        Monitor         "Configured Monitor"
        Device          "Configured Video Device"
        DefaultDepth    24
EndSection

Section "Module"
        Load    "glx"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier      "Configured Video Device"
        Driver  "fglrx"
EndSection

No input devices anymore?

I did a bit of research and found out, that hal is probably the reason for this. After a bit more research, I found a solution somewhere ’round the net (sorry, don’t know where and cannot find that page again):

  1. Create a file named 11-synaptics-options in the directory /etc/hal/fdi/policy using the command sudo nano /etc/hal/fdi/policy/11-synaptics-options.fdi
    in a console window.
  2. Copy the following to it:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
    <deviceinfo version="0.2">
      <device>
        <match key="input.x11_driver" contains="synaptics">
          <merge key="input.x11_options.SHMConfig" type="string">On</merge>
          <merge key="input.x11_options.MaxTapTime" type="string">0</merge>
        </match>
      </device>
    </deviceinfo>
    
  3. Save and exit nano (Ctrl+X)
  4. Reboot you computer

For me this worked and now I don’t have to worry anymore about “touchpad accidents”.

One Response to Disable touchpad tapping in Kubuntu

  1. Rogelio says:

    Thanks a lot ! It worked !

Leave a Reply

